Welcome, Guest!!
follow us on... Facebook twitter google youtube

Author Topic: Hello there!  (Read 1052 times)

Offline Illusive Pants

• Round 1!
  • Championship Pot: 13
    • My Blog/Art Dump
Hello there!
« on: April 02, 2015, 06:22:29 AM »
I'm sure my enticing and imaginative title has just drawn in crowds by the boatload, so I'll just wait for the noise to die down. Oh, you're the only person here. OK then.

Hi. My name is Jon and I'm new to this forum. Truth be told, I'm new to the Avatar franchise in general. I put off watching the show for a long time, and a few weeks ago finally marathonned ATLA over a couple weeks. I fell in love with it, as I'm sure all of you did long before me.

I've subsequently moved on to Legend of Korra, which I absolutely adore. I'm only up to season 3, so I'll have to tip-toe around spoilers for a couple weeks, but it's already become my favorite animated show. It combines a whole lot of cultural elements which I've already been interested in most of my life and wraps it all into a gorgeously animated and well written show. It's incredible. It also encouraged me to take a break from 3D architecture modeling, which is my primary art medium, and resume practice on 2D character sketching, which is something I've never been very good at. I hope to share some of my ATLA and TLOK fan art with you. Maybe I'll get round to some 3D fan art at some point.

There's not a whole lot to say about myself. I was born in England in 1982, raised in Australia and moved to the United States in 2009, where I now reside with my American wife. I'm a geek at heart, and a proponent of equality (but not a dirty Equalist) for all genders, ethnicities and so forth. I'm a feminist, a video gamer, an amateur artist and rabid consumer of history and culture.